The mountains of the Hohe Tauern are part of the Central Alps, more than 300 of the highest mountains of Austria with over 3.000 m elevation are in the Hohe Tauern (e.g. the Großglockner, the highest mountain in Austria at 3.800 m). The National Park Hohe Tauern with more than 1.800 km² is the biggest national park in Austria and Middle Europe and borders the provinces Tyrol (Osttirol), Salzburg and Carinthia. The National Park has around 130 km² of glacier fields and extensive forests of larches, stone pines and spruces. Whatever you do in the Hohe Tauern – it will be an unforgettable nature experience. The region also includes a lot of very popular winter and summer tourist locales. Salzburg: Mittersill, Kaprun, Rauris, Bad Gastein. Tyrol: Hopfgarten, Kals, Matrei, Prägraten, Virgen. Carinthia: Heiligenblut, Mallnitz.

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner